Ghana Science Association, Kumasi Branch

 GSA  Active Members

 GSA National Website


The Ghana Science Association (GSA), Kumasi Branch held its Annual General Meeting at the Allotey Auditorium, College of Science, KNUST on Tuesday October 8th, 2019. The event was attended by members from KNUST, CSIR– Building and Road Research Institute (BRRI), CSIR– Crops Research Institute (CRI) and the Kumasi Technical University.

The meeting also served as the handing over ceremony for the new leadership of the association. In his remarks, the immediate past president of the Kumasi Branch, Prof. Nathaniel Owusu Boadi, highlighted the growing membership of the Association and a return to consistent organization of the One Day Research Seminar and Poster presentations as some of the achievements of the past leadership. Other members of the outgoing executive are Dr. Patrick Addo-Fodjour (Secretary) and Dr. (Mrs) Linda Aurelia Ofori (Treasurer).


The new President of the Kumasi Branch, Dr. Jacob Agbenorhevi, expressed gratitude to the past administration for the work done and reiterated the desire of the new leadership to continue the good work. He outlined a rigorous membership drive and organization of capacity building workshops for SHS teachers as some of the activities that he and his team will focus on.  Dr. Jacob Agbenorhevi further mentioned the creation of a website for the Kumasi Branch, increased visibility of the Association and active involvement of a larger number of members in GSA activities as some of the things he hoped will be achieved during his tenure of office. Other members of the current executive are Dr. Lawrence Sheringham Borquaye (Secretary) and Dr. Abena Boakye (Treasurer).

The new national executives of GSA: Prof. William Gariba Akanwariwiak (Hon. National President), Prof. Nathaniel Owusu Boadi (Hon. National Secretary) and Prof. (Mrs.) Regina Appiah-Opong (Hon. National Treasurer) were also handed over at the National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting on 10th October, 2019 at the GSA Secetrariat, Accra.


Five renowned, dedicated and accomplished scientists were appointed as Patrons of the Association. They were Prof. Aboagye Menyeh of the Department of Physics, KNUST, Prof. R.C. Abaidoo of Department of Theoretical and Applied Biology, Prof. Ibok Nsa Oduro and Prof William Otoo Ellis, both of the Department of Food Science and Technology and Prof. Joseph Nketiah Berchie of the CSIR – Crops Research Institute.

  ©Copyright 2020. All rights reserved Ghana Science Association                                  Web Master:  Michael Konney Laryea

Home Page